The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

It’s no secret that I love award season. Maybe not even just love, it may even border on obsession. Regardless, it’s my favorite time of the year. In general, I I am a person who is most always up on celebrity gossip, love fashion, and also consider myself to be a bit of a movie buff, so how could I not love award season?!

Well, now that the Superbowl of award season, The Oscars, is over I’m already going through a bit of withdrawal. So allow me to regal you with some of my favorite things about these award season, because yes, it was a good’un!

My Favorite People

WHO DOESN’T LOVE THIS WOMAN?!?

adelle

Oh yeah, this girl…badeleThe only person who seemed to enjoy everything about award season, probably including the amazing Adele, is this old coot:
aatommyThese two girls though are loving life, and I absolutely love them back.aaloveheraaloveher2

The Best Hosts EVER

If anyone out there doesn’t like these women, well, they probably aren’t reading this right now.bbesthostWho doesn’t just love seeing this randomly pop up during the acting categories?bbesthost3Or women who make this joke:bbesthostgJAMESCAMERONGLOBESMEMEI think ol’ Bill has it right,bbesthost2

A runner up to my favorite host is this dreamboat:bbesthost44And also, a good pair of presenters should never go unnoticed either,bbesthostgoodpresent

Best Speech

Now, there were a lot of great speeches. Jennifer Lawrence blew it out of the park with every win, and who knew Daniel Day Lewis had jokes? But, my favorite by far was from Argo’s Best Picture win. I may be a little biased, because I have a soft spot for Ben Affleck, but this? This is perfect:

benspeechbenspeech (2)

And part of what makes it so great is this reaction:benwife

God help me, I love this couple and if they ever get divorced I will probably require more therapy than either of them. But, speaking of couples, here’s a few of my other favorites…

Best Award Show Couples

I LOVE THAT THIS IS HAPPENING! If I can’t have him, I’m pleased as pie that she does. This couple interests me to no end, and mainly because I keep wondering if they work out together, and if so, who benches more?Skinnygirl Cocktails at the Critics' Choice Movie Awards 201385th Annual Academy Awards - Arrivals

I’m hearing that this isn’t happening, romantically anyway. But damnit, I want it to be! Throughout most of Zero Dark Thirty I kept waiting for there to be a sexy interlude between the two, and I was denied. Looks like I am now denied again in real life. Or am I…coupleoscar1

coupleoscar2Not only do I love this couple, but Naomi Watts is wearing my favorite dress from the Oscars. I have a feeling very few people could pull this look off, but I’ve never seen her look better. The hair and makeup are fierce and the dress fits her perfectly and is out there without being too outrageous. Oh yeah, Liev doesn’t look too shabby either.

Now that I’ve brought up the dress…

Best Dressed

While I absolutely adore the girl (seriously, the girl crush is getting a bit out of control at this point) her actual Oscar dress wasn’t anything to write home about…minus the fact it was responsible for her tripping up the stairs. But this dress? This dress is what she should’ve worn to the big show, not the after party. GORGE.coupleoscardresspostshow

My favorite frock from the Critics Choice:critics

Again, the fit is perfect. The lace cutouts are tasteful but still sexy. And that coral is a dream for her coloring.

dressifc

Speaking of color! This was by far the most beautiful thing I saw at the IFC Spirit Awards. At a show where people usually go casual, this sexy, classy gorgeousness. This is everything I would love to find in a dress (phew, first girl crushing, now dress crushing too? So be it.). There is nothing about this dress that I don’t like. It makes her look like a bronzed goddess. (Oh wait, she is…)

dresssag

Marion Cotillard is the very reason I wish I were French. She is so chic it kills me. Her hair is fabulous and gets me thisclose to taking scissors to my hair (DON’T DO IT! Must keep reminding myself, this cut will not be my friend, as it is hers.). As for the dress, the second I saw her on the SAG red carpet, I knew it would be my favorite. It is beautifully made, the colors are so crisp and bold next too each other, and I absolutely love the draping in the front. She’s fabulous, end of story.

And speaking of fabulous… Not only was she an amazing host, she was the best dressed (without even wearing a dress!) at the Golden Globes.70th Annual Golden Globe Awards - Arrivals

If I were Will Arnett, I’d be kicking myself looking at this picture.TOO MUCH SEXINESS! The open jacket paired with the necklace is pure sex on a platter. She seems to ooze confidence in this, as she should.

Now, not everything about this season was good. But, nothing can be perfect right? There is always that one cloud burdening your perfect sunny day. That cloud this year? ANNE FUCKING HATHAWAY. Most who read this know my (extensive) thoughts on her, so I won’t go into detail here. Even without my general distaste for her, she would still be my cloud. Her false sense of humble-pie-look-at-my-big-giant-huge-eyes was mildly annoying with the first win, but by the time the Oscars got around I literally gave myself an eye spasm from rolling them so hard. When I heard this line:zanne-hathaway-self-doubt-thumb-500x281-59424

All I could hear is this:zanne

But, ya know, let’s not let this head on a stick ruin the whole party. Best to end my favorite time of the year on a high note…

BEARDS!

gty_clooney_cooper_affleck_thg_130224_wblog

Beards, glorious beards!

And of course, there’s this…

BEST AWARD SEASON WRAP UP SHOW

Jimmy Kimmel’s post Oscar show is always a hoot. But this year? This year he took it to a whole new level, and that level is Channing Tatum.verybest

God bless you, Channing.

So there you have it, dear readers. A few of my favorite things from my most favorite time of the year. And now the torturous wait for the 2014 season begins…

2 thoughts on “The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Leave a Reply

