A Few of My Favorite (and Some Not So Favorite) Things of 2012

Happy New Year, dear readers! After a much needed break from blogging, and life in general, I am back. In all actuality, I have a ton to write about, a lot of somewhat personal and somewhat exciting things…but, although I’m back, I’m not quite ready to get into the deep stuff. Instead, I’ll just tell you about all my favorite shit from 2012. Oh readers, I know you’re excited!

Since I am an entertainment junkie, let’s start with the movies, albums, books, and TV that rocked my world last year.

Favorite Movies:

Haywire. Okay, this is going to be met with some shock and probably some scoffs, but damnit, I loved that movie. And I suppose technically it came out in 2011, but I didn’t see it until ’12, so whatever, it’s my favorite! If you know me well, you know I LOVE a gal who can kick ass and take care of business, and Gina Carano did just that. I’m also a fan of Steven Soderbergh’s directing style (Out of Sight being my all time favorite) and to top it off, Michael Fassbender and Channing Tatum are in it. How could this not be my favorite movie of the year?

Some flicks I was also loving in 2012; Moonrise Kingdom, Silver Linings Playbook, Lola Versus, Lawless, Django Unchained, 21 Jump Street (no one was surprised by this more than me), and Magic Mike (for a gal who used to not be on the Channing Tatum bandwagon I’m seeing a pattern here…). A few from 2012 I’m still dying to see – Argo, End of Watch, Skyfall, and The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Favorite Albums:

This is a toughie. Music depends so much on my mood that it’s always hard to pick out a favorite anything as far as tunes are concerned (unless its favorite song, because that is and always will be Footloose.). I’d say my favorite album of 2012 is actually a tie between Babel by Mumford and Sons (who put on an amazing show for me {well, not just for me, but a girl can dream…}) and Coexist by The xx. Both are the two albums I listened to over and over last year, without skipping a song, which is a feat unto  itself, and putting many of the songs on repeat (yeah, I’m looking at you Where Are You Now.).

Some runners up are 18 Months by Calvin  Harris and the 1991 EP by Azealia Banks, both of which get me going at the gym. Also Channel ORANGE by Frank Ocean and Trilogy by The Weeknd, both of which are my go-to’s for when I need something awesome but mellow.

Favorite Books:

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. Easily the best I read all year. True, I wasn’t super elated by the ending, but I tore through that book and thoroughly enjoyed every other part of it. My mother insists it is set to become a film and Jennifer Aniston is attached to it. I’d be A-ok with seeing her do something like this, something a little darker.

Some other favorites were The Kings of Cool by Don Winslow – this is the prequel to The Savages, and in my opinion not quite as good, but nonetheless, I love this man’s style. Live by Night by Dennis Lehane – almost finished with this and am currently very sleepy because I’ve been up way too late reading this prohibition era story. And, (I’m not ashamed to admit this, not at all) The 50 Shades trilogy – yeah, whatever, the writing was awful and if I hear about anyone’s inner goddess ever again I’ll snap, but the book did allow me to picture Henry Cavill as Mr. Christian Grey, and that is something I’m VERY happy to picture. Let’s all just take a moment to enjoy…936full-henry-cavill

Favorite TV Shows:

Again, toughie for me because it depends on if I’m in the mood to laugh or think. If I want to think, then it’s Sherlock all the way. Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are my jam! This show is just brilliant and I wish BBC would make their seasons longer! My only true complaint with BBC shows. Now, if I’m in the mood to laugh, it’s all about the New Girl. This season has been so funny and I’m pretty sure Nick and I were meant to be. We would be the youngest old crotchety, snarly couple ever, and damnit, we would never go into haunted houses lest we run out screaming like girls!

Some honorable mentions are The Bachelor/ette (yes, I said I would NEVER watch reality shit like this, but I’ve been hooked since Ashley’s season, and even though I hated Emily and most of her season, damn did I love looking at Arie), Luther, Downton Abbey, Girls, Newsroom, Game of Thrones (can’t go wrong with some HBO), Dr. Who, Being Human, Gone Girl (seriously though, when did I turn into a Sci-Fi fan??), and of course, Sons of Anarchy (JAX, JAX, JAX. Yep, just drooled while typing that).

And just for shits and giggles, here’s a few more of my favorite (and maybe least favorite) things from 2012…

Favorite Concert:

Bruce fuckin Springsteen.

Favorite Purchase: 

Me Too tan, leather flats. OMG. They make my feet feel so good and look so cute with skinny jeans. I adore them and will be purchasing more of them soon.

Favorite Meal:

Mushroom Ravioli and Garlic Bread from Paesanos in Sacramento. For a gal who was cutting WAY back on gluten, that meal was a serious slice of heaven. I may be dreaming about that garlic bread at this very moment…

Favorite Date:

San Francisco. Yes, I got tartar sauce on my dress and ruined it, had to sit in an area riddled with bird poop, and the traffic was horrendous, but… the city was beautiful. I’d been wanting to go for forever, and I was with a guy who let me do every cheesy touristy thing I desired. Nothing is better than looking out at the bridge and the city on a perfectly warm and sunny day and sharing heart fluttery kisses with a guy you’re crushing on.

A close second was being taken to all you can eat sushi. Because it’s ALL YOU CAN EAT SUSHI.

Least Favorite Date:

Going out with a beau and his friends and drinking. A lot. Then throwing up. A lot. No further explanation needed.

Favorite Guy:

Long Distance Lover. This may surprise some, because it didn’t work out and he did end up hurting my heart a bit, but meeting him and spending time with him and falling for him did two really great things for me: he opened me up to some things I had no idea I liked so much and know a lot more about what I want from the next man in my life, and he showed me that I can fall for a guy pretty hard (yes! I still have it in me!) and it not work out and not be a total mess for an extraordinarily long period of time afterward. These were things I needed to and enjoyed learning about myself. (Plus, he’s just really hot.)

My two runners up might also surprise you, and not surprise you at all. The first is my ex. Yes, the ex that sent my heart into a no man’s land black pit of despair. We’ve spent some time together and had a lot of fun…and it felt great. I wasn’t in the fetal position bawling and I wasn’t cursing all men forever and ever afterward. I was just happy to have someone to have fun with. The second will not surprise you at all.

tom hardy beard

Yes, the only man who can get me to watch a Reese Witherspoon and an Anne Hathaway movie in the same year.

And just because…

Least Favorite Guy:

Long Distance Lover. Congrats on that, sir! No, it’s not that I hate him or wish him ill will, it’s just slightly annoying (okay, supremely annoying) to be super into someone, have them be super into you, and then just…disappear. Long distance is no one’s idea of a good time, but for Pete’s sake, just tell a girl you’re not into it anymore rather than do the phase out. Phase out’s suck. There’s no closure and without closure I end up thinking all sorts of crazy things, even if it’s just subconsciously in dreams (the most recent being that he was very sick for awhile and then one of his THREE kids needed some sort of transplant. {But that he did miss me, so that was nice at least…but three kids? Gah!} More than likely he just met a girl where he lives, so where on earth does my brain come up with this randomness?!).

So there you have it, readers. Just a few of my favorite things from 2012. I’m outrageously excited for 2013 because, in more way than one in my case, it is a new beginning. But, more to come on that later 😉

One thought on “A Few of My Favorite (and Some Not So Favorite) Things of 2012

Leave a Reply

