Plans

There is a reason clichés exist. Because they are true. One that I hear more than any other is, “You make plans and God laughs.” Sure, maybe it’s not God, I mean, who knows who it really is out there, but someone, somewhere is out there just laughing up a big old storm because of all us little people and all our little plans.

A week ago I thought I had a plan. I’ve been meditating and soul-searching and shaking my Magic 8 ball just trying to figure out what I want to do with the next chapter of my life (“next chapter” – my polite way of saying ‘I’m going to be 30 soon, better fucking do something with my life.’) and finally, FINALLY, I thought I had the beginnings of a plan. I had the next five months all worked out, culminating into that next chapter. That next big thing.  And I guess that’s when whoever is out there decided they needed a good laugh and decided to throw a giant cloud of uncertainty onto my sureness. The day after, literally the day after, I came to a pretty solid conclusion on what was what, I was presented with a brand spanking new option, one that could be very financially rewarding and provide a lot of stability to my future. In other ways it’s not as greatly rewarding, but still, it’s yet another option and it’s throwing a big ol’ wrench into my plans. Nards!

Now please do not take this post as a complaint. Suddenly I have a new option, on top of all the others I already had, and in no way am I complaining about having choices to make. These choices, albeit difficult to make right now, are a blessing. Being able to scheme and plot and plan a new adventure for myself is a blessing.

That being said…

Please, whoever you are out there laughing at my plans, please stop. Please leave me be and let me map out this “next chapter” plan without any more forks in the road getting me lost along the way.

Leave a Reply

