Secret Sunday

So this is more of a not-so-secret-Sunday. Last week I wrote about finding music to fit a specific mood and it’s something I’ve been doing for years. Music has always been important to me. It motivates me at the gym, it’s rhythm gets me moving when I need to dance it out, it is loud and fast and hard when I’m working through stressful days, it’s lyrics comfort me when I’m having those nights where I feel like I’m nearing the end of my rope, and more often than not, it’s my road trip companion, never complaining when I sing too loud and slightly off key.

Most days I just throw my iPod on shuffle, but lately I’ve been listening to one specific playlist. It’s twenty or so songs that are getting me through this time of transition, this uncomfortable time when so many things are changing and so many changes need to be made and I find myself stressed and scared and worried I may never achieve all or any of the great ideas I’ve planned for myself all these years and as a person who finds it pretty hard to talk about my doubts and fears, this playlist expresses more than I even know how to express myself. Music has always done that for me, it speaks for me when I cannot. So, I guess this is the “secret” part of Secret Sunday. A few songs from this playlist that are basically a glimpse into where my mind has been for the last few weeks.

1. Storms – Fleetwood Mac

“But never have I been a blue calm sea
I have always been a storm”

Stevie Nicks is one of my all time favorite voices.

2. Die Alone – Ingrid Michaelson

“You make me think that maybe I won’t die alone.”

3. There’s No Way – Sam Bisbee

“I’m sorry I hurt you, forgive me.” 

Sometimes that’s all a girl needs to hear.

4. Skinny Love – Ed Sheeran

“Who will love you?
Who will fight?
Who will fall far behind?”

I normally prefer originals over covers, but Ed Sheeran’s version of this song sends my heart places.

 

5. Things I Never Needed – Grace Potter & The Nocturnals

“Take away this sense of regret
Take the things I need to forget
Take the mistakes I haven’t made yet
They’re all I have left”

One thought on “Secret Sunday

Leave a Reply

